Eurovision 2017: Which countries will compete in Kyiv?

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 11,728 views0

Preparations are in full swing for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest as Ukraine gears up to host the musicfest next year. Which countries will be joining the party? Will there be any comebacks? withdrawals? debuts? How many countries are coming to Kyiv? Let’s check it out….

Thunder and lightning! It’s getting exciting! The 2017 Eurovision season is here….. The majestic city of Kyiv is all set to welcome Europe come May when the Eurovision bandwagon lands in the Ukrainian capital bringing with itself all the glam, gloss and rasmatazz

Around 40 plus countries are expected to join the party next year in Kyiv. The maximum number of countries permitted to compete in next year’s contest is 46, whilst the Grand Final will feature a total of 26 nations battling for the Grand Prix. 10 countries from each semifinal proceed to the Grand Final, thus 20 nations will join the host country Ukraine and the BIG Five (Spain, United Kingdom, Italy, Germany and France) on 13 May.

So far a total of 40 countries have confirmed their intention to participate in Eurovision 2017 including Romania. We are expecting San Marino, Australia and Russia to confirm their participation  in due course as the deadline to apply for participation concluded on 15 September and the grace period for applicant countries to withdraw their application without facing a financial penalty concluded on 10 October.

The official list of the 2017 ESC participating countries is expected to be released by the end of the year.

Will Australia participate in Kyiv?

It is more than highly likely that we will see Australia participate in the contest for the 3rd time in 2017, specially after Dami Im’s magnificent result in Stockholm. Don’t forget how the Aussies embrace Eurovision and live the competition down under!

Will there be any debuts?

Liechtenstein is very keen to compete in the contest, but is yet to join the EBU in order to be eligible for participation. The landlocked country hopes to join the Eurovision family one day when it becomes an EBU member, until then we will have to wait, thus we won’t see Liechtenstein debut in Kyiv.

Regarding Kazakhstan it is yet unclear if we will see the country debut in the competition next year as Khabar Agency is only an EBU associate member since January 2016 and is not eligible to participate in Eurovision.

Who is returning?

Portugal and Romania are set to return to the contest next year. Portugal withdrew from the competition in 2016 but has confirmed its return in 2017. Whilst Romania has also confirmed it participation in Kyiv, thus looking forward to return to the contest, after having its member services withdrawn earlier this year by the EBU due to a non payment of debt. The country was forced to stay out of the competition in 2016.

Who is withdrawing?

So far there has been no talk or indication from any country planning to withdraw from the contest next year, apart from Bosnia & Herzegovina, who has confirmed it will not participate in ESC 2017.

Who will not return?

Monaco, Luxembourg, Andorra, Slovakia and Turkey have all confirmed that they will not return to the competition next year.

Confirmed countries

  1. Sweden
  2. Denmark
  3. Norway
  4. Finland
  5. Estonia
  6. Switzerland
  7. France
  8. Belgium
  9. The Netherlands
  10. Armenia
  11. Ukraine
  12. Germany
  13. Ireland
  14. Portugal
  15. Iceland
  16. Malta
  17. Cyprus
  18. Slovenia
  19. Latvia
  20. Lithuania
  21. Spain
  22. Czech Republic
  23. Poland
  24. United Kingdom
  25. Italy
  26. Belarus
  27. Croatia
  28. Israel
  29. Austria
  30. FYR Macedonia
  31. Albania
  32. Romania
  33. Montenegro
  34.  Azerbaijan
  35. Bulgaria
  36. Georgia
  37. Hungary
  38. Greece
  39. Serbia
  40. Moldova

Yet to confirm

  1. Russia
  2. San Marino
  3. Australia

Will not return

  1. Andorra
  2. Luxembourg
  3. Monaco
  4. Bosnia & Herzegovina
  5. Slovakia
  6. Turkey

Will there be any debut?

  1. Kazakhstan

Will not Debut

  1. Liechtenstein

The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 9, 11 and 13 May at the IEC in Kyiv, Ukraine.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at!