Belarus: BTRC confirms participation in Eurovision 2017

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 931 views

BTRC, the Belarusian national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Belarus will participate at the forthcoming 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine.

The Belarusian broadcaster is yet to determine the format and mechanism it will use to select its Eurovision entry for Kyiv.

In 2016 Belarus opted for a national selection in order to select its Eurovision entry and act. Ivan won the golden ticket to Stockholm with Help you fly. Despite an extraordinary performance he failed to qualify to the Grand Final.

Belarus debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2004 and is yet to win the competition. The country achieved its best placing in the contest in 2007 with Koldun.

With Belarus  in the house,  25 countries have so far confirmed their intention to participate at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

The period for countries to apply for participation at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest concludes on 15 September. Hereafter applicant countries have a grace period until 10 October to decide if they are to stay or not in the competition without facing a financial penalty.

The final and confirmed list of the ESC 2017 participating countries is expected to be released by the EBU by late December/early January

The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held at the IEC in Kyiv on 9, 11 and 13 May.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!