Australia: SBS confirms participation at Eurovision 2017

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,381 views

SBS, the Australian national broadcaster has confirmed that Australia will participate at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv next year.

SBS and Australia have been invited to compete at the Eurovision Song Contest by the EBU for the 3rd time in Eurovision history. SBS is yet to determine the mechanism it will use to select its Eurovision entry and act for Kyiv. It is highly likely the Aussies will yet again opt for an internal selection as has been the case in the past 2 years. More details will be released in due course.

In 2016 Australia selected its Eurovision entry via an internal selection. Dami Im was awarded the golden ticket to Stockholm with her entry Sound of Silence. The Aussie beauty won the jury voting in the Grand Final and narrowly missed out on bagging the Grand Prix to Ukraine’s Jamala.

With Australia in the house, 43 countries have so far confirmed their intention to participate at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

The period for countries to apply for participation at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest concluded on 15 September. Hereafter applicant countries had a grace period until 10 October to decide if they were to stay or not in the competition without facing a financial penalty.

Australia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2015 with Guy Sebastian and is yet to win the competition. The country achieved its best result in 2016 with Dami Im, who placed 2nd in the Grand Final.

The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 9, 11 and 13 May in Kyiv, Ukraine.