Malta: PBS confirms participation in Eurovision 2017

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 945 views

PBS, the Maltese national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Malta will compete at the forthcoming 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine.

It is more than likely that Malta will opt for a national selection in order to select its Eurovision entry and act for Ukraine. More details and information regarding the 2017 Maltese Eurovision project will be released in due course.

Thus Malta joins Lithuania, Cyprus, Latvia, Portugal, Slovenia, Armenia, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Switzerland, France, Germany, Ukraine, The Netherlands, Belgium, Ireland and Estonia all whom have confirmed their intention to participate at the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine.

The official list of participating countries at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest is expected to be released by the EBU by late December 2016/early January 2017.

Malta debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1971 and is yet to win the event. The beautiful Mediterranean island’s best placing in the contest was achieved in 2002 with Ira Losco and in 2005 with Chiara, when the country placed 2nd.

In 2016 Ira Losco was back in the competition for the 2nd time with her entry Walk on water.

The preliminary dates for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest have been set on 9, 11 and 13 May.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!