Spain: TVE confirms participation in Eurovision 2017

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 949 views

TVE, the Spanish national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Spain will participate at the forthcoming 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine.

The Spanish Head of Delegation Mr. Federico Llano handed TVE’s ESC 2017 participation application to Mr. Jon Ola Sand in Berlin yesterday at the ESC 2017 preparation meeting, thus confirming Spain’s participation in Kyiv.

In 2016 Spain opted for a national final in order to select its Eurovision entry and act. Barei won the golden ticket to Stockholm with her entry Say Yay!

TVE is yet to reveal the mechanism it will use to select its Eurovision entry and act for Kyiv.

With Spain in the house, 23 countries have so far confirmed their intention to participate at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

The period for countries to apply for participation at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest concludes on 15 September. Hereafter applicant countries have a grace period until 10 October to decide if they are to stay or not in the competition without facing a financial penalty.

The final and confirmed list of the ESC 2017 participating countries is expected to be released by the EBU by late December/early January

Spain debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has won the competition twice in 1968 with Massiel and in 1969 with Salome.

The 2017 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 9, 11 and  13 May at the IEC in Kyiv, Ukraine.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!