Slovenia: RTVSLO confirms participation in Eurovision 2017

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 795 views

RTVSLO, the Slovenian national broadcaster has confirmed its participation at the forthcoming 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine next year.

Slovenia will be once more opting for a national selection in order to select its Eurovision entry and act. EMA 2017 will determine the 2017 Slovenian representative for next year’s ESC edition.

The Slovenian national broadcaster has released the rules and regulations for EMA 2017. RTVSLO has called for artists and composers wishing to compete in the national selection to submit their entries to the broadcaster by 3 November. Hereafter a special jury consisting of 3 members will whittle down the number of entries for the national final. More details will be released in due course.

Thus Slovenia joins Armenia, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Switzerland, France, Germany, Ukraine, The Netherlands, Belgium, Ireland and Estonia all whom have confirmed their participation at the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine.

Slovenia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1993 and is yet to win the event. In 2016 ManuElla flew the Slovenian flag in Stockholm at ESC 2016 with her entry Blue and Red, despite an amazing performance she failed to qualify to the Grand Final.