Iceland: RUV confirms participation in Eurovision 2017

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 461 views

RUV, the Icelandic national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Iceland will compete at the forthcoming 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine.

RUV is yet to reveal the mechanism it will use to select its Eurovision entry and act for 2017. More details will be disclosed in due course. The Eurovision Song Contest is very popular in Iceland where most of its population tune in to watch the magnificent song festival.

Thus Iceland joins Malta, Lithuania, Cyprus, Latvia, Portugal, Slovenia, Armenia, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, Norway, Switzerland, France, Germany, Ukraine, The Netherlands, Belgium, Ireland and Estonia all whom have confirmed their participation at the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine.

So far a total of 20 countries have confirmed their intention to participate at the fortchoming 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Ukraine.

The official list of participating countries at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest is expected to be released by the EBU by late December 2016/early January 2017.

In 2016 Greta Salome represented Iceland for the 2nd time at the ESC  with her entry Hear them calling, despite an extraordinary performance she failed to qualify to the Grand Final.

Iceland debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1986 and thus celebrated its 3o years in the competition this year. The country is yet to win the coveted contest and has twice achieved a 2nd placing in the competition: in 1999 with Selma and in 2009 with Yohanna.

The preliminary dates for the 2017 ESC have been set on 9, 11 and 13 May.