Serbia: RTS confirms participation in Eurovision 2017

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 975 views

RTS, the Serbian national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Serbia will participate at the forthcoming 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv.

The Serbian broadcaster is yet to determine the mechanism it will use to select its Eurovision entry and act for Kyiv. More details will be revealed in due course.

In 2016 Serbia selected its Eurovision act and entry via an internal selection. Sanja Vucic aka ZAA was awarded the golden ticket to fly the Serbian flag in Stockholm with her entry Goodbye.

Serbia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2007 and won the competition the same year with Marija Serifovic‘s Molitva.

With Serbia in the house, 39  countries have so far confirmed their intention to participate at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

The period for countries to apply for participation at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest concluded on 15 September. Hereafter applicant countries had a grace period until 10 October to decide if they were to stay or not in the competition without facing a financial penalty.

The final and confirmed list of the ESC 2017 participating countries is expected to be released by the EBU by the end of the year.

The  2017 Eurovision Song Contest, scheduled to be held on 9, 11 and 13 May at the IEC in Kyiv in Ukraine.