Italy: Angelina Mango wins Sanremo 2024 and will go to Malmö!

by Stefano 4,051 views

What a night! What a show! The 74th edition of the Festival of Sanremo delivered yet another sensational show and met all the expectations. It took more than 28 hours of live television, but here we are: Angelina Mango won the Festival of Sanremo with La noia. The singer confirmed at a press conference that she will represent the Belpaese at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Malmö next May.

It was well into the night when the name of the winner of the Festival of Sanremo 2024 was proclaimed from the stage of Teatro Ariston. Co-hosts Amadeus and Fiorello delivered the most awaited news in Italy for the past week. Tonight’s votes came from the televote only.

The final night of Sanremo 2024 saw the special appearance of Roberto Bolle and dancers from the Béjart Ballet Lausanne as well as Gigliola Cinquetti, who celebrated 60 years of her Sanremo-Eurovision victories with the iconic Non ho l’età.

The provisional ranking

Right at beginning of the final night Amadeus presented the provisional ranking of the first four nights. It unveiled the favourites for the victory.

  • 1st place: Geolier – I p’ me, tu p’ te
  • 2nd place: Angelina Mango – La noia
  • 3rd place: Annalisa – Sinceramente
  • 4th place: Ghali – Casa mia
  • 5th place: Irama – Tu no
  • 6th place: Mahmood – Tuta gold
  • 7th place: Angelina Mango – La noia
  • 8th place: Loredana Bertè – Pazza
  • 9th place: Diodato – Ti muovi
  • 10th place: Alfa – Vai!
  • 11th place: Il Volo – Capolavoro
  • 12th place: Emma – Apnea
  • 13th place: Gazzelle – Tutto qui
  • 14th place: Fiorella Mannoia – Mariposa
  • 15th place: The Kolors – Un ragazzo una ragazza
  • 16th place: Il Tre – Fragili
  • 17th place: Santi Francesi – L’amore in bocca
  • 18th place: Mr. Rain – Due altalene
  • 19th place: Negramaro – Ricominciamo tutto
  • 20th place: Ricchi e poveri – Ma non tutta la vita
  • 21st place: Dargen D’Amico – Onda alta
  • 22nd place: BigMama – La rabbia non ti basta
  • 23rd place: Rose Villain – Click boom!
  • 24th place: Clara – Diamanti grezzi
  • 25th place: Maninni – Spettacolare
  • 26th place: Renga e Nek – Pazzo di te
  • 27th place: Bnkr44 – Governo punk
  • 28th place: La Sad – Autodistruttivo
  • 29th place: Fred De Palma – Il cielo non ci vuole
  • 30th place: Sangiovanni – Finiscimi

The finalists

At the end of all performances the final top 30 was announced. This ranking took into account all votes expressed during the week plus tonight’s televote:

  • 6th place: Mahmood – Tuta gold
  • 7th place: Loredana Bertè – Pazza
  • 8th place: Il Volo – Capolavoro
  • 9th place: Alessandra Amoroso – Fino a qui
  • 10th place: Alfa – Vai!
  • 11th place: Gazzelle – Tutto qui
  • 12th place: Il Tre – Fragili
  • 13th place: Diodato – Ti muovi
  • 14th place: Emma – Apnea
  • 15th place: Fiorella Mannoia – Mariposa
  • 16th place: The Kolors – Un ragazzo una ragazza
  • 17th place: Mr. Rain – Due altalene
  • 18th place: Santi Francesi – L’amore in bocca
  • 19th place: Negramaro – Ricominciamo tutto
  • 20th place: Dargen D’Amico – Onda alta
  • 21st place: Ricchi e poveri – Ma non tutta la vita
  • 22nd place: BigMama – La rabbia non ti basta
  • 23rd place: Rose Villain – Click boom!
  • 24th place: Clara – Diamanti grezzi
  • 25th place: Renga e Nek – Pazzo di te
  • 26th place: Maninni – Spettacolare
  • 27th place: La Sad – Autodistruttivo
  • 28th place: Bnkr44 – Governo punk
  • 29th place: Sangiovanni – Finiscimi
  • 30th place: Fred De Palma – Il cielo non ci vuole

This left us with a short-list of five big finalists:

  • Irama – Tu no
  • Ghali – Casa mia
  • Angelina Mango – La noia
  • Geolier – I p’ me, tu p’ te
  • Annalisa – Sinceramente

We have a winner!

The televote (34%) was then reopened, this time together with the vote of the press (33%) and of the radio jury (33%). The three entities had the last word for this edition of the Festival of Sanremo.

Since suspense is the word, before revealing the final top 5 Amadeus and Fiorello delivered the following awards:

  • Critics award “Mia Martini” to Loredana Bertè – Pazza
  • Press award “Lucio Dalla” to Angelina Mango – La noia
  • “Sergio Bardotti” award to the best lyrics to Fiorella Mannoia – Mariposa
  • “Giancarlo Bigazzi” award to the best musical composition to Angelina Mango – La noia

Friday night Geolier had already won the Cover award for his performance of Strade (Medley) with Guè, Gigi D’Alessio e Luchè.

The final ranking:

  • 1st place: Angelina Mango – La noia
  • 2nd place: Geolier I p’ me, tu p’ te
  • 3rd place: Annalisa – Sinceramente
  • 4th place: Ghali – Casa mia
  • 5th place: Irama – Tu no

Finally, Amadeus announced the winner of the 2024 Sanremo Festival. It was Angelina Mango with the entry La noia. It is a successful debut for the 22 year-old singer from Maratea (Basilicata). Her late father, Pino Mango, had partaken seven times between 1985 and 2007, without ever taking the trophy. Last year Angelina rose to fame in Italy finishing second of the famous talent show Amici di Maria de Filippi, but winning the singing category.

Angelina Mango is the first woman to win Sanremo after Arisa in 2014 with Controvento. The artist declared at the winner’s press conference on 11 February that she intends to make use of her ticket to Malmö and represent Italy at the 2024 Eurovision Song Contest. She becomes the first woman to sing for Italy since 2016, when Francesca Michielin sang No degree of separation in Stockholm, placing 16th.

Member of the so-called Big5, Italy is automatically qualified to the Grand Final of the 2024 Eurovision Song Contest on 11 May 2024.