Finland: Darude feat. Sebastian Rejman release their first song ‘Release me’

by Stratos Agadellis 936 views

As we’re slowly heading to the Finnish national selection event Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK), which will be held on 3 March in Turku, the country’s broadcaster YLE released the first of the announced artists’ three candidate songs!

It’s been less than two weeks that Finland made public that they will be represented by the world-renowned DJ Darude, joined by his vocalist Sebastian Rejman at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. The first song is entitled Release me and is written by Ville Virtanen, Jaakko Manninen and Brandyn Burnette. Enjoy with its video clip below!

The track is also available on all electronic music platforms, such as Spotify, Apple Music and Deezer. The second potential Eurovision entry by Darude feat. Sebastian Rejman is expected to be released next Friday 15 February. Stay tuned!

Finland at Eurovision

Finland made their first appearance at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and finally took the trophy home 45 years later, in 2006 with the hard rock band Lordi and Hard rock hallelujah. Until then, the Scandinavian country had seen a series of relatively poor fortunes in the contest, with the 7th being their best result.

Last year, the country was represented by Saara Aalto, who travelled to Lisbon with her pop song Monsters. She competed at the first semi-final and reached the Grand Final. Despite a powerful and eccentric performance, she came only 25th with 46 points.

Finland is set to compete in the first half of the first semi-final on 14 May.