Portugal: Festival da Canção 2019 Semi-final running order determined

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 589 views

RTP, the Portuguese national broadcaster, has unveiled the running order of the 2019 Festival da Canção 2019 semi-finals.

Portugal is working from strength to strength preparing for its upcoming iconic national selection- Festival da Cançao 2019.

The Portuguese broadcaster has determined the running order of the Festival da Cançao 2019 semi-finals, scheduled to be held on 16 and 23 February in Lisbon.

Running Order of FdC 2019 Semi-finals

Semi-final 1

  1. Ana Claudia- Inercia
  2. Joao Campos-É o que é
  3. Soraia Tavares- O meu sonho
  4. Calema-A dois
  5. Conan Isiris- Telemoveis
  6. Ela Limao-Mais brilhante que mil sóis
  7. Filipe Keil- Hoje
  8. Matay- Perfeito

Semi-final 2

  1. Lara Laquiz- O lugar
  2. Dan Riverman- Lava
  3. Mariana Bragada- Mar doce
  4. Joao Couto- O jantar
  5. Madrepaz- Mundo a mudar
  6. Surma- Pugna
  7. Mila Dores- Debaixo de luar
  8. NBC- Igual a ti

Festival da Canção 2019

The 2019 FdC will consist of three shows ( two semi-finals and a grand final) scheduled to be held in February and March 2019.

A total of 16 acts will battle for the golden ticket to Tel Aviv, 8 acts will compete in each semi-final, the top 4 entries from each semi-final will proceed to the Grand Final of FdC.  Hence 8 acts will fight for the right to represent Portugal at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in the Portuguese national final.

  • 16/02/2019- Festival da Cançao Semi-final 1
  • 23/02/2019-Festival da Cançao Semi-final 2
  • 02/03/2019-Festival da Cançao Grand Final

The semi-finals will be held at the RTP Studios in Lisbon whilst the venue and host city for the grand final will be held in Portimão.

The hosts

A total of six hosts will be presenting the upcoming Portuguese national selection; namely 2 hosts per show:

  • Sónia Araújo & Tânia Ribas de Oliveira (Semi-final 1)
  • Jorge Gabriel & José Carlos Malato (Semi-final 2)
  • Filomena Cautela & Vasco Palmeirim (Grand Final)

Filomena Cautela was one of the four charming hostesses at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon. She has hosted FdC several times and is one of RTP’s most sought after television presenters.

Inês Lopes Gonçalves will be the Green Room host during all three shows.

Portugal in Eurovision

Portugal debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1964 and has won the competition once, namely in 2017 with Salvador Sobral‘s Amor pelo dois. The country successfully hosted the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon.

Portugal has competed 50 times in the Eurovision Song Contest and will see its 51st participation in Tel Aviv next year.

In 2018 Claudia  Pascoal & Isaura were crowned the winners of Festival da Cançao and had the honour to defend the Portuguese colours at the Eurovision Song Contest on home soil with their entry O Jardim. Despite a beautiful peformace the 2018 ESC host nation finished last in the Grand Final.