Liechtenstein: 1 FL TV will not debut in Eurovision 2015

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 4,559 views

1 FL TV, the national broadcaster of the Principality of Liechtenstein has  confirmed to that Liechtenstein will not be participating at the  forthcoming 2015 Eurovision Song Contest next May in Austria.

1 FL TV informed that it has no plans to join the EBU at the moment,  thus excluding the possibility of participating at the Eurovision Song Contest next year. The broadcaster did state that they are interested in competing in the Eurovision Song Contest, thus we might seen the tiny state enter the competition in the near future.

1 FL TV’s Head of Television Programmes Mr. Petr Kolben informed ESCToday:

We are interested in participating in the Eurovision Song Contest, but at the moment we have to evaluate the costs of the EBU membership. It is very unlikely we will participate in Austria next year.

The Liechtensteinese broadcaster is not an active member of the EBU, hence it is not eligible to participate in the contest. 1FL TV went on air on the 15th of August 2008 and broadcasts in German. The channel is licensed by the government of Liechtenstein.

It is  very unlikely that we will see any new country debut at the Eurovision Song Contest next year. Will Liechtenstein join the Eurovision family one day? Time will tell….

A total of 17 countries have confirmed their intention to participate at the 2015 Eurovision  Song Contest: Greece,  FYR Macedonia, Austria, Cyprus, Malta, Switzerland, Sweden, Iceland, Norway, Denmark, Ireland, Germany, Finland, The Netherlands, Lithuania, Belgium and Estonia.  Whilst Montenegro and Belarus have stated that they are  most likely to enter the competition next year.

The 2015 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 19, 21, 23 May in Austria.

Stay tuned to for the latest news and information on the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest.