Armenia: AMPTV reveals the 2018 Depi Evratesil finalists

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,633 views

AMPTV, the Armenian national broadcaster, has revealed the names of the 2018 Depi Evratesil competing hopefuls. Armenia will be selecting its Eurovision representative via Depi Evratesil for a second consecutive year.

Depi Evratesil 2018

ARMTV is gearing up for the forthcoming 2018 Eurovision season. The broadcaster shortlisted a total of 20 applicants out of the 100 submitted applications.

In the upcoming edition of Depi Evratesil each competitor will compete with his/her own respective entry.

A total of 20 acts will compete in the 2018 Armenian Eurovision national selection in their quest to represent Armenia at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. Depi Evratesil will consist of 3 stages: qualifying round, semifinals and grand finale.

The 2018 Armenian Eurovision act and entry will be determined via a 50/50 public-international jury deliberation. The shows will be broadcast on ARMTV Channel 1.

The competing songs will be released on 15 January on Depi Evratesil’s official Youtube channel, whilst the 2018 Armenian national selection Depi Evratesil will kick off on Saturday 3 February.

The 20 Depi Evratesil candidates

  • Robert Koloyan
  • Sevak Khanaghyan
  • Suren Poghosyan
  • Mher Ermenistan
  • Thom
  • Zhanna Davtyan
  • Hayk Kasparov
  • Gevorg Harutyunyan
  • Maria Sekret
  • Hasmik Shiroyan
  • Melek
  • Amalya Margaryan
  • Tamar Kaprilian
  • Lusine Mardanyan
  • Arman Mesropyan
  • Mariam
  • Kamil (Arsen Grigoryan)
  • Nemrut Band
  • Alternatif Band
  • Gata Band

Armenia in Eurovision

Armenia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in Athens in 2006 and is yet to win the competition. Sirusho and Aram Mp3 retain the country’s best results to date, both having achieved a 4th place in the Grand Final respectively in 2008 and 2014.

In 2017, Armenia launched a national selection Depi Evratesil in order to select its Eurovision act and entry for Kyiv. Artsvik won the Armenian national selection and flew to Kyiv with Fly with me, where she placed 18th in the Grand Final.