Liechtenstein: 1 FL TV will not debut in Eurovision 2019

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 5,737 views

1 FL TV, the national broadcaster of the Principality of Liechtenstein has confirmed to ESCToday that Liechtenstein will not debut at the forthcoming 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Israel.

The broadcaster was vying to become an EBU member and compete in the Eurovision Song Contest, but its plans have been halted due to the sudden demise of Mr. Peter Kolbel (1 FLT TV director). Mr. Kolbel was working earnestly in order to bring the landlocked country to the Eurovision Song Contest.

The Liechtensteiner broadcaster told ESCToday that their plans to join the EBU and compete at the Eurovision Song Contest have been delayed for at least two more years due to Mr. Kolbel’s death. The broadcaster will continue to pursue Mr. Kolbel’s plans and projects, thus leaving the door open for a Eurovision participation in the near future.

The Liechtensteiner broadcaster is not an active member of the EBU, thus it is not eligible to participate in the contest currently. Therefore it has to become a full EBU Member in order to partake in the competition.

Financial hurdles

The broadcaster faces 2 major challenges in order to fulfill its wish to participate at the Eurovision Song Contest in the future; it requires the support from the government and to solve the financial constraint an EBU membership entails, not forgetting the costs of a Eurovision participation.

Once it overcomes these hurdles and it becomes an active member of the EBU, we will possibly see Liechtenstein join the Eurovision family!

The landlocked country has a rich musical heritage and has many talented singers, musicians, choirs and orchestras.

Three years ago, 1 FL TV told ESCToday that Liechtenstein was interested in participating in the contest but had to evaluate the financial costs an EBU membership entails.

The 2019 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held in Israel next year. The EBU and host broadcaster KAN are yet to officially announce the 2019 Eurovision host city and dates.