Sweden: Melodifestivalen 2017 acts revealed

by Jessica Weaver 2,759 views

The secret is out! The 28 participants in Sweden’s Melodifestivalen 2017 event have been revealed today in a special press conference.

Hosted by one third of the Melodifestivalen 2017 hosting trio, David Lindgren, the 28 participants in the 2017 edition of Melodifestivalen were each revealed this morning.

A long with the participating artists, the song titles of the bidding entries along with the composers were also revealed in today’s conference, however the songs will not make their premiere until the live shows are set to take place next February.

The entries are as follows (with composers listed in brackets):

04/02: Semi-final 1: Gothenburg

  1. AdrijanaAmare (Martin Tjärnberg, Adrijana Krasniqi)
  2. Boris RenéHer kiss (Tim Larsson, Tobias Lundgren)
  3. NanoHold on (Nano Omar, Gino Yonan, Ayak, Carl Rydén, Christoffer Belaieff, Rikard de Bruin, David Francis Jackson)
  4. Charlotte PerrelliMitt liv (Charlotte Perrelli, Lars Hägglund)
  5. Dinah NahOne more night (Thomas G:son, Jimmy Jansson, Dinah Nah, dr alban)
  6. De Vet DuRoad trip (Johan Gunterberg, Christopher Martland)
  7. Ace WilderWild child (Peter Boström, Thomas G:son, Ace Wilder)

11/02: Semi-final 2: Malmö

  1. MarietteA million years (Thomas G:son, Johanna Jansson, Peter Boström, Mariette Hansson, Jenny Hansson)
  2. Benjamin IngrossoGood loovin’ (Benjamin Ingrosso, Louis Schoorl, Matt Pardon)
  3. DismissedHearts align (Ola Salo, Peter Kvint)
  4. Roger PontareHimmel och hav (Thomas G:son, Alexzandra Wickman)
  5. Lisa AjaxI don’t give a (Ola Svensson, Linnea Deb, Joy Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad)
  6. EtziaUp (Johnny Sanchez, Hanif Sabzevari, Simon Gribbe, Erica Haylett)
  7. AllyawanVart haru varit (Masse Salazar, Samuel Nazari)

18/02: Semi-final 3: Växjö

  1. Owe ThörnqvistBoogieman blues (Owe Thörnqvist)
  2. Bella & FilippaCrucified (Peter Hägerås, Mats Frisell, Jakob Stadell, Filippa Frisell, Isabella Snihs)
  3. The Fooo ConspiracyGotta thing (Robert ”Mutt” Lange, Tony Nilsson)
  4. Jasmine KaraGravity (Anderz Wrethov, Jasmine Kara)
  5. Robin BengtssonI can’t go on (David Kreuger, Hamed ”K-One” Pirouzpanah, Robin Stjernberg)
  6. Anton HagmanKiss you goodbye (Christian Fast, Tim Schou, Henrik Nordenback)
  7. Krista SiegfridsSnurra min jord (Krista Siegfrids, Gustaf Svenungsson, Magnus Wallin, Gabriel Alares)

25/02: Semi-final 4: Skellefteå

  1. WiktoriaAs I lay me down (Justin Forrest, Jonas Wallin, Lauren Dyson)
  2. Les GordonsBound to fall (Jonatan Renström, Albert Björliden, Andreas Persson, Carl Ragnemyr, David Runebjörk, Jimmy Jansson)
  3. Sara Varga & Juha MulariDu får inte ändra på mig (Sara Varga, Lars Hägglund)
  4. Jon Henrik Fjällgren feat. AniniaEn värld full av strider (Jon Henrik Fjällgren, Sara Biglert, Christian Schneider, Andreas Hedlund)
  5. Axel SchylströmNär ingen ser (Behshad Ashnai, Axel Schylström, David Strääf)
  6. Alice SvenssonRunning with lions (Anderz Wrethov, Andreas ”Stone” Johansson, Denniz Jamm, Alice Svensson)
  7. LoreenStatements (Anton Hård af Segerstad, Joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Loreen)

Familiar faces for 2017

The 2017 line-up is an exciting one, featuring not 1 but 2 grand Eurovision winners; Charlotte Perrelli (1999 winner) and Loreen (2012 winner), with the latter featuring the famous family of composers with the entry Statements.

Two more former Eurovision participants feature in the 2017 line-up; Roger Pontare (Sweden 1994 & 2000) and Krista Siegfrids (2013), before of whom have prior experience within the Melodifestivalen event having both competed in recent years.

2017 also features Melodifestivalen’s oldest ever bidding participant, Owe Thörnqvist, who at the grand age of 87 will be making his debut in the Swedish national selection.

A vast range of recent Melfest participants make their return to the 2017 edition, with familiar names including the likes of Ace Wilder, Wiktoria, Mariette, Robin Bengtsson, Lisa Ajax, Dinah Nah and Boris René.

ESCToday was live on the scene at this morning’s press conference. Check out our English coverage of today’s announcement below!

Who are you excited to see in Melodifestivalen 2017? Any surprises in this year’s line-up?

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!