Serbia: RTS confirms participation in Eurovision 2020

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 3,632 views

RTS, the Serbian national broadcaster, has confirmed to ESCToday that Serbia will participate at the forthcoming 2020 Eurovision Song Contest in The Netherlands.

Thus Serbia joins the list of countries who have confirmed their participation at the 2020 Eurovision edition in Holland.

The Serbian broadcaster is yet to unveil the mechanism it will use to select its Eurovision entry and act for Eurovision 2020. More details on the 2020 Serbian Eurovision project will be released in due course.

In 2019 Serbia selected its Eurovision hopeful and song via its iconic national selection Beovizija.

Serbia in Eurovision

Serbia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest as a solo country in 2007 and walked away with the coveted trophy when Marija Serifovic was crowned the winner with her melodic ballad Molitva. The country successfully hosted the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest in Belgrade the following year, when the EBU introduced two semi-finals in the competition.

The Balkan country has partaken in Europe’s favourite television show 11 times.

In 2019 Serbia used its traditional national selection Beovizija in order to select its Eurovision entry and act for Tel Aviv.  Nevena Bozovic won the the golden ticket to Israel and defended the Serbian colours at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest with her song Kruna, achieving a 18th place in the Grand Final.