Iceland: Hatari crowned as Act of the Year at the Icelandic Music Awards

by Roy Knoops 1,858 views

Iceland’s Eurovision 2019 representatives Hatari have won the Icelandic Music Award in the category Act of the Year.

The enigmatic Icelandic band Hatari, consisting of Klemens Nikulásson Hannigan (vocals), Matthías Tryggvi Haraldsson (vocals) and Einar Hrafn Stefánsson (drummer and producer), was victorious at the 2019 edition of the Icelandic Music Awards, winning the trophy for Act of the Year in the pop, rock, rap, and electronic category. This is a recognition for the group, who has been enjoying a growing popularity in their home country and beyond.

Mynd með færslu

Will hatred prevail?

Known for their extravagant looks and performances, Hatari (“Hater”) is a techno and punk rock band hailing from Reykjavík. The band will take to the Eurovision stage in Tel Aviv with the song Hatrið mun sigra (“Hate will prevail”), an entry which has received much media attention.

It’s one of this year’s most outspoken acts, a “love or hate” entry. Yet, is the song a call for a dystopian nihilism or a satirical criticism of the modern (social media) culture? Perhaps it is best to let everyone make up their own minds.

However, Hatari doesn’t seem to go unnoticed in Israel!

Watch the official music video for Hatrið mun sigra:

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!