Moldova: O melodie pentru Europa 2019 moved to 2 March

by Stratos Agadellis 746 views

We will get to know the Moldovan representative at this year’s Eurovision one day earlier than expected! The country’s national broadcaster announced the rescheduling of their annual national selection on Saturday 2 March, with the release of the event’s promotional spot.

Before the revelation of the 10 shortlisted acts that are going to take part and fight for Moldova’s Eurovision ticket, TRM had initially planned O melodie pentru Europa 2019 to consist of a semi-final and a Grand Final on 2 and 3 March respectively, with the first show being finally cancelled.

Following this movement, another national final is added to the 2 March agenda, together with those of Norway, Iceland, Finland, Georgia and Portugal.

The show’s participating acts will be as follows:

  • Anna Odobescu – Stay
  • Aurel Chirtoacă – La cinema
  • Tinna Gi – Virus 
  • Diana Brescan – Lies
  • Siaj – Olimp
  • Lemonique – GravitTy
  • Maxim Zavidia – I will not surrender
  • Marcela Scripcaru – Meteor
  • Che MD ft. Elizaveta Ivasiuk – Sub Pămînt
  • Vera Ţurcanu – Cold

Moldova at Eurovision 2018

Moldova was represented at Lisbon’s Eurovision Song Contest by the band DoReDos and the song My lucky day, which was victorious at the country’s national selection O melodie pentru Europa 2018, among 16 competing acts. Their entry was penned by the acclaimed music composers Philipp Kirkorov and John Ballard.

The band delivered an eccentric and theartical performance at the Altice Arena. Thus, the country went through to the Grand Final from the second semi-final and eventually placed 10th, with a total of 209 points.

As of the semi-final allocation draw, Moldova will participate on the first half of the second semi-final on 16 May.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!