Eurovision 2019: EBU releases official list of participating countries

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,696 views

It’s confirmed and sealed! A total of 42 countries are set to compete at the forthcoming 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv. The EBU has released the official list of the 2019 ESC participating countries.

36 countries will compete in the 2 semi-finals scheduled to be held on 14 and 16 May. A total of 26 countries will compete in the grand final on 18 May.

The Big 5 countries (Spain, United Kingdom, France, Italy and Germany) + host country (Israel) are automatically qualified to compete in the grand final. Hence 20/36 countries will proceed from the semi-finals to the grand final and join the Big 5 and Israel.

Mr.Jon Ola Sand (Eurovision Song Contest Executive Supervisor – EBU) says:

Last year Netta dared to dream and won the contest in Lisbon, bringing it to Israel for 2019. We are thrilled that 42 countries will be represented in Tel Aviv and hope the participating broadcasters are inspired to have the same dream. The team at KAN is busy preparing to welcome the participants – and the World! – to Tel Aviv and will be putting on a show to remember.

Mr. Eldad Koblenz (KAN/IPBC CEO) says:

We already know that dreams come true when we saw Netta Barzilai win the Eurovision Song Contest in May and bring the trophy back to Israel for a fourth time. Netta allowed us to dare to dream and now, as these dreams are being realised, we can’t wait to host the 42 delegations who will aspire to do the same. All of us at KAN are looking forward to welcoming everyone to an exciting and memorable Eurovision Song Contest that will be watched by millions of viewers in Israel and across the globe.

Participating countries

  1. Albania
  2. Armenia
  3. Australia
  4. Austria
  5. Azerbaijan
  6. Belarus
  7. Belgium
  8. Croatia
  9. Cyprus
  10. Czech Republic
  11. Denmark
  12. Estonia
  13. Finland
  14. France
  15. FYR Macedonia
  16. Germany
  17. Georgia
  18. Greece
  19. Hungary
  20. Iceland
  21. Ireland
  22. Israel
  23. Italy
  24. Latvia
  25. Lithuania
  26. Malta
  27. Moldova
  28. Montenegro
  29. The Netherlands
  30. Norway
  31. Poland
  32. Portugal
  33. Romania
  34. Russia
  35. San Marino
  36. Serbia
  37. Slovenia
  38. Spain
  39. Sweden
  40. Switzerland
  41. Ukraine
  42. United Kingdom

The 2019 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 14, 16 and 18 of May at the Tel Aviv Convention Centre in Tel Aviv, Israel.