Montenegro: RTCG opens submissions for Montevizija 2019

by Stratos Agadellis 599 views

Who is going to be the next Montevizija winner? The Montenegrin broadcaster RTCG has officially begun their pre-selection process for their national selection event, which is going to determine the country’s hopeful for Tel Aviv’s Eurovision edition.

As announced by the new Head of Delegation, Nataša Baranin, a total of five artists will compete at the national selection event, the date of which will be announced in the coming weeks. The broadcaster has opened an invitation for artists to submit their compositions, which will be in progress for 30 days.

Artists may send their entries anonymously and in closed white envelopes to RTCG, by only using a 5-digit code as their application number. The songs’ lyrics have to be in Montenegrin or English language. A special appointed committee is going to whittle down all submitted songs and decide upon which 5 will be the final candidate acts for the ticket to Tel Aviv. Regarding this selection procedure, RTCG has revealed the algorithm that will be used:

  • Composition – up to 50 points
  • Lyrics – up to 30 points
  • Production potential of the composition – up to 20 points

The maximum number of points a song can score is 100.

Authors and artists must be of Montenegrin citizenship.

You may find all details and regulations of the Montenegrin national selection here.

Montenegro at Eurovision 2018

The country of former Yugoslavia entered the Eurovision house as a sovereign state in 2007, having missed two contests since (2010, 2011). Montenegro struggled to qualify to the Grand Final for the first time, as they did 7 seven years after their debut, in 2014. The best result for the Balkan nation so far is a 13th place, achieved by Knez in 2015.

In 2018, the Montenegrin broadcaster RTCG decided to bring back a national selection format and organized the newly-introduced Montevizija competition. It was won by Vanja Radovanović, who subsequently represented the country in Lisbon. With his song Inje, he was eliminated in the second semi-final, coming 16th with 40 points.

The 64th Eurovision Song Contest will be taking place on 14, 16 and 18 May 2018 at the EXPO Convention Center in Tel Aviv, Israel. As announced by the EBU and the host broadcaster KAN, the contest’s slogan is going to be “Dare to Dream“.