Russia: RTR confirms participation in Eurovision 2019

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,255 views

RTR, the Russian national broadcaster, has confirmed that Russia will participate at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Israel.

Good evening Europe this is Moscow calling! The Russians are joining the Eurovision party in Israel. Thus Russia joins the list of countries who have confirmed participation at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv.

Russian broadcaster RTR will be returning to the competition after 3 years, the last time it partook in the competition was back in 2016 when Sergey Lazarev placed 3rd in Stockholm.

The Russian broadcaster is yet to reveal its plan of action for Eurovision 2019 and is set to reveal more details in due course.

In Russia two national broadcasters are EBU members and thus alternate when participating at the Eurovision Song Contest: Channel 1  has been participating in Eurovision during odd years, whilst RTR (Rossija 1) during even years. But this changed in 2017 when Channel One withdrew from the contest due a ban imposed by Ukrainian authorities barring Yulia Samoylova from entering Ukraine.

Initially 2018 was RTR’s turn to partake in the event, but due to the circumstances the previous year Channel Once competed in Lisbon.

Russia is yet to determine the mechanism it will use to select its Eurovision act and entry for Eurovision 2019. The Rusian broadcaster is set to reveal more detials on its Eurovision 2019 project in due course.

Russia in Eurovision

Russia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 with Youdiph and has won the event once in 2008 when Dima Bilan walked away with the coveted Eurovision trophy.

The country successfully hosted the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest in Moscow. Russia has sent some of its most acclaimed and celebrated artists to the competition: Dima Bilan, Sergey Lazerev, t.A.T.u, Alsou, Polina Gagarina, Alla Pugacheva, Philip Kirkorov, Serebro etc.

Russia has competed 21 times in the contest and has enjoyed great success in the musical festival with 9 top 10 placings including a victory in 2008.

In 2018 Russia selected Yulia Samoylova via an internal selection in order to defend the Russian colours at the Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon with her song I won’t break. The country failed to qualify to the Grand Final for the very first time in Eurovision history.