Denmark: Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018 finalists revealed

by Jessica Weaver 3,956 views

Who will follow Anja Nissen in becoming the next Danish representative at the Eurovision Song Contest? The country’s national broadcaster has confirmed the names of the 10 finalists set to compete in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018!

Next month sees the Scandinavian nation of Denmark selecting their representative for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest; we now know the names of the 10 acts in the fight for that right!

In a press conference earlier today, the Danish national broadcaster – DR – revealed the names of the bidding artists set to compete in Dansk Melodi Grand Prix (DMGP), the country’s national final for Eurovision 2018.

The 2018 participants were presented by a host of former DMGP competitors.

Presenting the Danish finalists

  1. Ditte MarieRiot
  2. Anna RitsmarStarlight
  3. RasmussenHigher ground
  4. SannieBoys on girls
  5. SandraAngels to my battlefield
  6. Lasse MelingUnfound
  7. CARLSEN – Standing up for love
  8. KARUISignals
  9. Rikke Ganer-Tolsøe – Holder fast i ingenting
  10. Albin FredyMusic for the road

Sannie will be known to many under her stage name Whigfield, who most memorably entered the charts internationally in the 90s with her hit Eurodance single, Saturday night.

Ditte Marie and Albin Fredy have previously attempted to represent Denmark in past editions of DMGP.

DR’s Entertainment Manager, Jan Lagermand Lundme, spoke of the 10 selected finalists:

I promise that it will be a fantastic show this year. We have an incredibly strong team of songwriters and the right mix of experience and young talent among the ten participants of the year. There is something to suit all tastes, so I’m really looking forward to Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark to dazzle up again for a huge Grand Prix party for all of Denmark.

The DMGP 2018 songs are yet to be released, with DR expected to unveil the audio tracks in the lead-up to the national final on the 5 February.

DMGP 2018 next month

The 10 confirmed participants are each set to compete for the right to represent Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest on the 10 February, set to be held at the Gigantium in the city of Aalborg.

Denmark’s 2018 Eurovision representative will be determined via a 50/50 combined jury vote and televote, following the same procedure as that in 2017.

The DMGP winner will be decided in 2 stages: the first stage will see all 10 acts competing with only the top 3 advancing to stage 2, with the second stage going on to see the Danish act determined. Both stages will see votes from the 50/50 combined vote.

Who would you like to see representing Denmark at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest?