Slovakia: RTVS will not participate in Eurovision 2016

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 5,228 views

RTVS, the Slovakian national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Slovakia will not participate at the forthcoming 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm next May. Hence we will not see Slovakia returning to the contest next year.

Thus Slovakia joins Luxembourg, Andorra and Monaco all of whom have confirmed their absence at next year’s Eurovision extravaganza. It will be the the 4th year in a row that we will not see a Slovak entry in the contest. The last time Slovakia participated in the contest was back in 2012.

So far a total of 34 countries have confirmed their intention to participate at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm.

The final list of ESC 2016 participants is expected to be released by the EBU by late December.

The period for countries to apply for participation at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest concluded on 15 September. Hereafter applicant countries have a grace period until 10 October to decide if they are to stay or not in the competition without facing a financial penalty

RTVS and Slovakia withdrew from the contest in 2013 and has been absent from the competition for 3 years.

Slovakia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 with Martin Durinda and Tublatanka and is yet to win the event. The country has never qualified to the grand final since the semi-finals were introduced in the competition.

The 2016 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 10, 12 and 14 May at the Globe Arena in Stockholm, Sweden.

Stay tuned to ESCToday for the latest news on Slovakia and the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.