Austria: ORF confirms participation in Eurovision 2014

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,491 views

ORF, the Austrian national broadcaster has informed and confirmed to esctoday.com that Austria will participate at the forthcoming 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen, next May.

The method and mechanism to select the 2014 Austrian entry is yet to be determined and announced. More details regarding Austria’s plans for Eurovision 2014 will be disclosed in due course.

Sweden, DenmarkFinland, Norway, Albania, Iceland, Ireland, San Marino, Georgia , Switzerland , The Netherlands,Estonia, Malta, FYR MacedoniaBelgium, Russia and Germany have all confirmed their participation at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest next year in Denmark. Whilst Belarus , Montenegro, Ukraine, Moldova ,Hungary and Latvia have said that they will most likely be in the competition next year.

Austria debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 with Bob Martin  and has won the event once in 1966 with Udo Jurgens’ Merci Cheri.

Natalia Kelly represented Austria at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest with her entry Shine.

The 2014 Eurovision Song Contest  is scheduled to be held on 6,8, 10 May at the B&W Hallerne in Copenhagen, Denmark. Stay tuned to esctoday.com for the latest news on Austria and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.


ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!