EBBA Awards 2018 to be held tonight; 2 Eurovision artists to appear

by Stefano Casellini 547 views

The 2018 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) will take place tonight. Two 2017 Eurovision artists will be appearing on stage.


Each year, 10 European artists receive an European Border Breakers Award (EBBA) for the success of their first release outside their home territory.

This success is measured by sales, live shows and airplay on EBU Member radio stations which contributes to their position on the European Border Breakers Charts.

Artists that qualify for EBBA 2018 have experienced groundbreaking success with their first international release in Europe between August 1 2016 and July 31 2017.

Alongside that, they have to come from a country that participates in the EU’s Creative Europe programme.

Where to watch

The awards show will be broadcast by over 20 EBU Members and streamed live at 19:00 CET on the EBBA website. It will include performances from Alice Merton, Alma, Off Bloom, Sigrid and Skott, Youngr.

The Eurovision Song Contest will be well represented, with Blanche from Belgium and Kristian Kostov from Bulgaria on stage tonight.

Third Eurovision winner of the year, Salvador Sobral from Portugal is unfortunately on a forced break from his music career.

Watch the 2017 EBBA highlights here:

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!