Lithuania: LRT reveals 20 finalists

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 304 views

LRT, the Lithuanian national broadcaster has revealed the names of the 20 finalists that will compete in the 2014 Lithuanian national final.

LRT has scheduled a total of 10 shows for the 2014 Lithuanian national selection, kicking off today and concluding on February 15 when the grand final will be held.

The 20 candidates

Aistė Pilvelytė
Aleksandra Metalnikova
Gintė Sičiūnaitė
Ieva Zasimauskaitė
Julija Jegorova
Juozas Butnorius
Jurijus Veklenko
Justinas Lapatinskas
Kristina Radžiukynaitė
Martynas Kavaliauskas
Monika Linkytė
Neringa Šiaudikytė
Pop Ladies
Sasha Song
Tadas Vilčinskas
Vaidas Baumila
VIG Roses
Vilija Matačiūnaitė

On December 14 a special Jubilee concert will be held to celebrate the 20th anniversary of Lithuania in the Eurovision Song Contest.  The 20 lucky acts that will compete in the 2014 Lithuanian national selection will be on stage performing along with former Lithuanian Eurovision representatives.

A total of 20 acts will compete in Phase 2 and the top 8 acts will then proceed to Phase 3 of the competition. The 4 best acts from Phase 3 will compete in the grand final on 15 February.

The national selection agenda

Phase 1

  • 14/12  Jubilee Concert

Phase 2

  • 21/12 Show 1
  • 28/12  Show 2
  • 04/01 Show 3
  • 11/01  Show 4

Phase 3

  • 18/01 Show 5
  • 25/01 Show 6
  • 01/02  Show 7
  • 08/02 Show 8

Phase 4

 . 15/ 02  Grand Final

Andrius Pojavis represented Lithuania at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmo with Something, achieving a 22nd place in the final.

Lithuania debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 and is yet to win the event. The country’s best placing at Europe’s favourite television show was in 2006 when LT United achieved a 6th placing in the Eurovision Song Contest final in Athens.

Stay tuned to for the latest news on Lithuania and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest