Finland: YLE reveals the 12 finalists

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 83 views

YLE, the Finnish national broadcaster has revealed the names of the 12 candidates that will compete in the 2014 Finnish national selection during a press conference held today. The broacaster made available 30″ snippets of the participating songs, and they can be found here.

The 12 candidates

  1. Lauri Mikkola – Going down
  2. Clarissa feat. Josh – Top of the world
  3. Madcraft – Shining Bright
  4. Mikko Pohjola – Sängyn reunalla
  5. Jasmin Michaela – Kertakäyttösydän
  6. Hukka ja Mama – Selja
  7. Hanna Sky – Hope
  8. MAKEA – Painovoima
  9. Dennis Fagerström – My little honey bee
  10. Softengine – Something better
  11. Lili Lambert – Let me take you there
  12. MIAU – God/Drug

YLE, the Finnish national broadcaster received a total of 420 entries for the national selection Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2014, which is scheduled to kick off on 28 December on YLE 2. A special jury consisted of Aija Puurtinen, Toni Wirtanen, Redrama and Tomi Saarinenhas, shortlisted them down to 12 songs, which will compete for the golden ticket to Copenhangen at the 2014 Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu national selection.

UMK 2014 Agenda

  • 28/12: Intro show 1
  • 04/01: Intro show 2
  • 11/01: Heat 1
  • 18/01: Heat 2
  • 25/01: Second chance
  • 01/01: Final

Krista Siegfriends won the last year’s UMK national selection and represented Finland at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contestwith Marry me, achieving a 24th place in the final.

Finland debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has won the event once in 2006 with Lordi’s Hard Rock Hallelujah.

Stay tuned to for more information on Finland, the 2014 Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.


ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!