International juries revealed for Melodifestivalen final

by Lee Williscroft-Ferris 240 views

The organisers of Melodifestivalen 2013 have revealed the countries which will make up the international juries in this year’s final.

Each year, the outcome of the preliminary heats of Melodifestivalen depends entirely on the public vote. The final, however, is different, the result being decided by 50% public vote and 50% international juries. The idea behind this unique approach is that it gives a broad perspective on musical tastes from the four corners of Europe.

It has been revealed that this year’s international jurors will come from the following countries;

  • Cyprus
  • France
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Croatia
  • Malta
  • Spain
  • UK
  • Germany
  • Ukraine

This is the third year that this system is being used to decide who will fly the Swedish flag in the Eurovision Song Contest. The procedure has certainly proved successful, with Sweden having placed third in Düsseldorf in 2011 and then emerging victorious with Euphoria in Baku last year.