Armenia: Depi Evratesil to determine Armenian ESC 2020 hopeful

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,886 views

AMPTV, the Armenian national broadcaster, has announced today that the 2020 Armenian Eurovision entry and act will be determined via the third edition of Depi Evratesil.

Armenia is gearing up in full swing for the forthcoming 2020 Eurovision Song Contest in Rotterdam. AMPTV has brought back its national selection Depi Evratesil for Eurovision 2020!

The Armenian broadcaster has published the rules and regulations for Depi Evratesil and opened the submission window for artists wishing to represent Armenia at the 65th Eurovision Song Contest to submit their applications and songs. The submission window is open as of today 5 November and will close on 31 December.

You can find the online application form here and rules here. Applicants should be citizens of Armenia or Armenians living overseas.

Armenia in Eurovision

Armenia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2004 and is yet to win the competition. The country’s achieved its best result in the event in 2008 (Sirusho) and 2014 (Aram Mp3) when it placed 4th in the Grand Final.

Armenia has partaken in the contest 13 times and has competed every year since its debut with the exception of 2012 when the country decided to withdraw from the competition.

The Armenians have enjoyed much success in Eurovision, garnering a total of 7 top 10 placings in their 13 year Eurovision history.

In 2019 AMPTV opted for an internal selection in order to select the Armenian Eurovision representative and entry for Tel Aviv. Srbuk flew the Armenian flag at the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest in Tel Aviv with her entry  Walking Out, despite an extraordinary performance Armenia failed to qualify to the Grand Final for the second consecutive year.