Watch now: Melodifestivalen continues with semi-final 3

by Eleanor Cooper 842 views

After some surprising results last week, the Swedes continue their grandiose selection process with the third semi-final, live from Leksand.  

Tonight we will see two more finalists chosen, and two further acts chosen for the second chance round. The hosts of the show are again Marika Carlsson, Sarah Dawn Finer, Kodjo Akolor and three-time Melodifestivalen contestant and Swedish representative at the 2011 contest, Eric Saade.

The competitors tonight are:
  1. The Lovers of ValdaroSomebody wants
  2. Dolly StyleHabibi
  3. Martin StenmarckLåt skiten brinna
  4. Lina Hedlund Victorious
  5. OmarOm igen
  6. Rebecka KarlssonWho I am
  7. Jon Henrik FjällgrenNorrsken

The Lovers of Valdaro and Rebecka Karlsson are both making their Melodifestivalen debut, whilst the other five acts all have previous experience. Dolly Style previously participated in 2015 and 2016, reaching the second chance round both times. Omar competed in Melodifestivalen 2017 as part of the group FO&O, finishing in 11th place in the final.

Jon Henrik Fjällgren has also competed twice previously, finishing second overall in 2015 and third overall in 2017. Martin Stenmarck won Melodifestivalen 2005 with his song Las Vegas, and represented Sweden in Kyiv. Lina Hedlund has the most Melodifestivalen experience; she competed alongside her sister in 2002, as a soloist in 2003, and as part of fan-favourite band Alcazar in 2009, 2010 and 2014. She returns for her sixth attempt in 2019.

As for the first semi final, the winners will be determined 100% by the audience, through phone calls and the revamped Melodifestivalen App. Hosts of the night are again Marika CarlssonEric SaadeSarah Dawn Finer and Kodjo Akolor.

Where to watch

You can follow the third semi-final of Melodifestivalen 2019 tonight at 20:00 CET via:

At SVT Play, you can also view snippets of the rehearsals on stage.

Melodifestivalen 2019 calendar

  • 2 February – Semi-final 1 – Scandinavium, Gothenborg
  • 9 February – Semi-final 2 – Malmö Arena, Malmö
  • 16 February – Semi-final 3 – Tegera Arena, Leksand
  • 23 February – Semi-final 4 – Sparbanken Lidköping Arena, Lidköping
  • 2 March – Second Chance – Nyköpings Arenor, Rosvalla, Nyköping
  • 9 March – Grand Final– Friends Arena, Stockholm