Denmark: Rasmussen films his Eurovision postcard in the National Palace of Mafra

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,005 views

The 2018 Danish Eurovision hopeful Rasmussen flew to Portugal recently in order to film his Eurovision postcard. The Danish postcard has been filmed at the National Palace of Mafra, one of the most iconic palaces in the country.

The delegations and participants of the 43 participating countries at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest will be travelling to Portugal prior to the contest in order to film their respective presentation postcards. Each artist will be portrayed in an activity or a challenge.

The postcards will showcase the beauty of Portugal and will portray the Eurovision artists enjoying the sights and sounds of the host country.

The presentation postcards serve as a massive platform for the host country to promote its tourism and showcase itself on a global scale as millions of viewers tune in to watch Europe’s favorite television show. The Eurovision Song Contest reaches households beyond Europe, from Australia to Argentina, from China to New Zealand, from USA to India etc.

The Danish postcard

The Danish Eurovision postcard will showcase Jonas Rasmussen, the 2018 Danish Eurovision representative in one of Portugal’s most beautiful and celebrated dwellings, the National Palace of Mafra.

The Palace of Mafra is a Baroque and Italianized Neoclassical monastery palace which lies 28 kilometres from Lisbon in Mafra. Visitors are often mesmerised with its beautiful architecture and unique furnishings.

The Danish hopeful commented:

It was a fantastic experience to record the postcard here at the National Palace of Mafra, a beautiful monument that breathes history in all its corners. The team was fantastic and I’m really looking forward to seeing the final result!

About Rasmussen

Rasmussen won the 2018 Danish national final and will represent Denmark at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest with his entry Higher ground.

Denmark in Eurovision

Denmark debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1957 and has won the competition thrice: 1963 (Grethe and Jorgen  Ingmann), 2000 (Olsen Brothers) and 2013  (Emmelie De Forest). Copenhagen has hosted the event thrice too in 1964, 2001 and 2014. The Danish capital also hosted the 50th Eurovision Anniversary Show- Congratulations.

Denmark is set to participate at the Second Semi-final of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest on 10 May in Lisbon.