Sweden: SVT reveals the countries of the international juries for Melodifestivalen 2018

by Stratos Agadellis 1,828 views

As we are approaching the end of the 58th Melodifestivalen journey, with only 2 out of a total of 6 shows remaining, the Swedish national broadcaster SVT has now unveiled the countries whose jury members will all together have a 50% stake at the show’s Grand Final. 

Europe and Australia join forces for Sweden!

11 countries have been selected to express their opinion on who will be flying the Swedish flag this year in Lisbon and these are the following:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Cyprus
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • United Kingdom

Every jury group will consist of 5 members, whose names are not yet known. SVT was reportedly desirous of efficient geographical spread of the selected countries, trying to manage expression of the possibly different musical preferences of the respective nations and cultures.

Among the 11 countries, we can meet France for the 9th consecutive time (has been participating every year since 2010) and this year’s host country Portugal, which joins the Melodifestivalen project for the very first time, together with Albania and Georgia.

The international jury voting procedure seems to have brought a long series of remarkable Eurovision results to the Scandinavian country (2 victories and 4 Top 5 placings), since its introduction, back in 2009.

Let’s see whether the favourite act of the international committees will be the one for Sweden in 2018!

Melodifestivalen 2018 schedule

Melodifestivalen 2018 resumes tomorrow with the Andra Chansen (Second Chance) round, taking place in the city of Kristianstad. The 8 competing songs have been allocated into 4 duels and only one of the two battling acts will get the ticket to the Grand Final on 10 March, joining the already 8 qualified acts from the 4 semi-finals. You may find out the 4 duels here.

Here is the full schedule of the 2018 event:

Sweden will be competing in the 2nd half of the second semi-final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2018, which will be held on 10 May.