Lithuania: Public to choose two more semi-finalists!

by Roy Knoops 353 views

Lithuanian broadcaster LRT has announced that the public may vote which two participants from the previous heats may return to Eurovizija 2018.

LRT made the decision to let the public vote for their two favourite acts and artists which were eliminated in the past weeks, and add them to the semi-final line-up of Eurovizija 2018, Lithuania’s national selection for Eurovision 2018.

Two semi-finals have been re-introduced to the selection: 14 acts will compete in the semifinals: 7 acts will battle in each semi-final. Six acts will battle for the golden ticket to Lisbon in the final.

LRT television director and long-term head of delegation Audrius Giržadas explains the decision to add two extra candidates:

I think this decision is valid, because it gives an opportunity to better appreciate the views of television viewers, radio listeners and portal visitors. In addition, it provides such a necessary chance for performers and an opportunity to smooth out the commission’s estimates of surprises.

Visitors of may choose from 12 former particpants who appeared in the last two broadcasts.

The potential candidates

  • Vidas BareikisPusvalanduko
  • Živilė GedvilaitėMelody
  • Germantė KinderytėTurn it up
  • Ruta LoopPositive thoughts
  • Benas MalakauskasMy memories
  • Juozas MartinDon’t give up
  • Agnė MichalenkovaitėGoing on
  • Lukas NorkūnasTegu
  • Elizabeth OlsheyBejausmis
  • Audrius PetrauskasIn my bones
  • Hilda RasilavičiūtėThinking about you
  • Greta ZazzaBroken shadows
 You may vote for your favourite artists here

The two artists who receive the most votes will be added to the Eurovizija 2018 semi-final line-up. Voting lasts until Wednesday morning 21 February 2018, with the returning participants being revealed the same day in the show Labas Rytas, Lietuva (Good Morning, Lithuania).

Eurovizija 2018 schedule

  • 24/02: Show  #7
  • 03/03: Semi-final
  • 11/03: Grand final