Malta: Christabelle Borg chosen for Eurovision 2018 with Taboo!

by Jessica Weaver 5,241 views

Malta becomes the fifth nation to decide their song entry for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, selecting Christabelle Borg as the winner of their national final with the entry Taboo.

Malta Eurovision Song Contest (MESC) returned for its 2018 edition tonight in search for the nation’s next Eurovision representative for the Lisbon-hosted event.

A total of 16 artists were shortlisted by the Maltese national broadcaster, PBS, to compete in the island nation’s national final, each of whom took to the Ta’ Qali-stage tonight with hopes of winning the grand MESC trophy.

Christabelle wins MESC 2018

Following the conclusion of the performances this evening, it was down to a 50/50 combined public and jury vote in order to determine the country’s next act for Eurovision.

During the voting process, the winner of the 2017 Maltese national final – Claudia Faniello – returned to the stage in order to perform 3 of her previous singles, together with her own band, as well as Malta’s Junior Eurovision representative from 2017, Gianluca Cilia.

The votes were revealed towards the end of the show, revealing that Christabelle Borg had received the highest percentage of votes on the evening, therefore earning the right to represent Malta at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest.

Christabelle won both the jury and public vote this evening.

Christabelle will compete in Lisbon with her song entry Taboo, written by Johnny Sanchez, Thomas G:son, Muxu and Christabelle herself. The Mediterranean island is set to compete in the second half of the second Eurovision semi-final on the 10 May.

[playbuzz-item item=”aa6946ec-4448-4fc0-809f-da293adc6857″ format=”story”]