Spain: Eurovision stars and Operación Triunfo to receive Cadena Dial Awards

by Roy Knoops 372 views

Spanish Eurovision stars Pastora Soler (2012) and Sergio Dalma (1991) are amongst the winners of the prestigious Cadena Dial Awards 2018.

An initiative of radio station Cadena Dial, part of the Media Group PRISA, the eponymous awards are an annual event celebrating Spanish artists and music.

The 22nd edition of the Cadena Dial Awards (Premios Cadena Dial) will take place on the 15 March at the Recinto Ferial de Santa Cruz  de Tenerife (Exhibition Center), Santa Cruz (Tenerife, Canary Islands), Spain.

The winners of 2018

Among the 2018 winners are, as was announced by Cadena Dial and Turismo de Tenerife, former Eurovision participants Pastora Soler and Sergio Dalma. Other winning artists include Antonio Carmona, Juanes, Malú, Pablo López and Rozalén.

Special awards (Premios Especiales) will be given to Manolo García, Carlos Vives, Tequila and TVE talent show (and currently the country’s Eurovision platform) Operación Triunfo, for their contribution to the contemporary Spanish music business.

Besides the victors, a host of Spanish stars is set to perform at the award gala show: Adexe & Nau, Antonio José, David DeMaría, Melendi, Bacilos, Amaia Montero, Bebe, Vanesa Martín, Marta Sánchez and Carlos Rivera.

For information about the Cadena Dial Awards 2018, visit the official website.

Eurovision winners

Pastora Soler represented Spain at the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest in Baku, Azerbaijan. With her powerful balled Quédate conmigo (Stay with me), she reached a respectable 10th place with 97 points in the Grand Final.

Sergio Dalma represented Spain with the song Bailar pegados (Dancing closely) at the 1991 Eurivision Song Contest in Rome, Italy.

He ultimately reached an honourable 4th place, receiving 119 points. Bailar pegados became one of Spain’s most beloved Eurovision entries and a Eurovision evergreen.