United Kingdom: BBC reveals six acts for Eurovision: You Decide

by Eleanor Cooper 3,274 views

The British national broadcaster, BBC, has revealed the six acts and song titles bidding to represent the United Kingdom at the Eurovision Song Contest 2018!

This evening, the BBC unveiled the names of the 6 bidding British hopefuls for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, revealed and confirmed via BBC Music.

The United Kingdom’s national final, Eurovision: You Decide, will take place next month on the 7 February: let’s have a look at the 6 hopefuls for the United Kingdom!

Eurovision: You Decide acts

The six songs and acts set to compete in Eurovision: You Decide next month are:

  • AsandaLegends
    Composers: Christopher Wortley, Laurell Barker, Roel Rats
  • GoldstoneI feel the love
    Composers: Eric Lumiere, Joakim Buddee, Laura White, Roel Rats
  • Jaz EllingtonYou
    Composers: Ashley Hicklin, Herman Gardarfve, Laura White
  • Liam Tamne – Astronaut
    Composers: Ashley Hicklin, Jacob Pedersen, Jeanette Bonde, Rune Braager
  • RAYACrazy
    Composers: Emil Rosendal Lei, Greta Salóme Stefánsdóttir, Samir Salah Elshafie
  • SuRieStorm
    Composers: Nicole Blair, Gil Lewis, Sean Hargreaves

Who are the competitors?

Asanda (© BBC)

Asanda first hit the spotlight in 2013 as a competitor on Britain’s Got Talent, competing at the young age of 11. In recent years since her talent show participation, Asanda has performed onstage at the Lyric Theatre, starring as Tallulah in the production of Bugsy Malone.

Goldstone (© BBC)

Goldstone is a contemporary girl-group consisting of 3 members: Aimie, Helen and Rhiannon. All 3 members have vast experience within the music industry, all having previous roles in numerous television programmes.

Jaz Ellington (© BBC)

Jaz Ellington is an old-school soul singer, with additional influences of gospel, jazz and funk. With singing being a major part of his life for over 15 years, Ellington’s big break came in 2012 following his participation in The Voice UK. Ellington’s career has continued to blossom in recent years, with the singer set to release an EP this month.

Liam Tamne (© BBC)

Liam Tamne is a Coventry-born singer and actor, now based in the British capital of London. Proclaiming his love of putting his own spin on things, Tamne has performed in a number of stage musicals over the years, some of which include Wicked, Hairspray, Les Misérables, The Phantom Of The Opera and The Rocky Horror Show.


RAYA is a multi-talented performer, known for her experience in acting, dancing, DJ’ing and, of course, singing. RAYA has travelled across the globe and performed a numerous international venues. RAYA has also had past experience as a vocal coach.

Interestingly, Iceland’s two-time representative Greta Salóme has composed RAYA’s bidding entry, alongside the earlier-reported songwriter Samir Elshay.

SuRie (© BBC)

SuRie is an actress and sing-songwriter, having previous experience in musical theatre in shows such as Les Misérables. SuRie is no stranger to the Eurovision stage, having performed twice as a backing vocalist for 2 former Belgian representatives: Loïc Nottet (2015) and Blanche (2017).

Song presentation later today

The bidding entries will be presented one by one on The Ken Bruce Show on BBC Radio 2 later today, airing from 10:30 CET (09:30 local time).

Yesterday, the winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2015 and host of Eurovision: You Decide 2018, Måns Zelmerlöw, was featured in a teaser trailer hinting at the content of the six competing acts, and endorsing them.


When does the UK decide?

The Eurovision: You Decide show will take place on Wednesday 7 February at the Brighton Dome and will last for 90 minutes.

The six acts will perform their songs in front of a jury, who are there to guide the viewers, and the winner will be decided by 50/50 combined public and jury vote.