Ukraine: Eugene Filatov completes the national selection jury

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 968 views

Ukrainian national broadcaster UA:PBC has revealed today that Eugene Filatov will complete the Ukrainian Eurovision national selection jury.

Eugene Filatov will be joining Jamala and Andreiy Danilko on the 2018 Ukrainian national selection jury panel. The 3 judges will be responsible to deliberate the 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision representative along with the public voting.

Eugene is a well known Ukrainian composer, the founder of the Ukrainian band The Maneken and the the sound producer of ONUKA and The Elephants bands.

Among the semi-finalists of the national selection, Eugene expects to see young ambitious artists:

The last few years have seen a rapid growth of new, promising and interesting music Ukraine. Every year we have more and more independent musicians who sound very good. I have very high hopes, I want to discover new first class artists.</span

Eugene has been one of the key figures of contemporary Ukrainian music for more than 15 years. He has collaborated with various Ukrainian artists including: Tina Karol, Sunsay, K.A.T.Y.A, Ivan Dorn, Loboda, etc.

He created the solo project The Maneken in 2007, and within a  year he spoke at the warming-up of the cult British group Jamiroquai at the Sports Palace.

Eugene Filatov’s team has released 4 albums and more than 20 singles. The artist has received many Best Sound Producer of Ukraine awards.

He was also the man behind the song arrangements of Sunsay and Brunettes Shoot Brunettes at the 2016 Ukrainian Eurovision national selection.

About the 2018 Ukrainian national selection

The 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision national selection will consist of a total of 3 shows (2 semi-finals and grand final). All 3 shows will be aired simultaneously on STB and UA:PBC’s Channel 1.

Serhiy Prytula will be hosting the Ukrainian national selection for the second time, having hosted this year’s Ukrainian Eurovision national selection.

  • 10/02: Semi-final 1
  • 17/02: Semi-final 2
  • 24/02: Grand Final

STB has released the details for the national selection. The submission period for artists to submit their entries in their quest to represent Ukraine at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest opened on 10 October and will conclude on 15 January 2018.

Artists wishing to compete in the national selection can submit their entries and register here. You can find the rules and details for the 2018 Ukrainian national selection here.

Ruslan Kvinta has been appointed as the music producer of the Ukrainian national selection.

The national selection will consist of 2 stages:

  • 1st Stage – Will consist of auditions in various Ukrainian cities
  • 2nd Stage – Will consist of 3 televised shows with circa 14-20 acts battling in the semi-finals

The 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision entry and act will be determined by a mixed jury/public televoting deliberation.

Ukraine in Eurovision

Ukraine debuted in Eurovision in 2003 and has won the competition twice (2004 – Ruslana and 2016 – Jamala).

The country is amongst the most successful countries in the contest and has never missed a Eurovision Grand Final since its debut, with the exception of 2015 when the country Ukraine withdrew from the contest. Ukraine has achieved a total of 9 Top 10 placings in its 14 year history in the event.

In 2017, O.Torvald represented Ukraine on home soil with their entry Time, achieving a 24th place in the Grand Final.