Ukraine: Jamala confirmed as jury member in national selection

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 630 views

Jamala, the 2016 Ukrainian Eurovision winner will once again be involved in the Ukrainian Eurovision project. STB and UA:PBC have revealed today that the Ukrainian star will be one of the jury members at the forthcoming 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision national selection.

Jamala will be playing a key role in deliberating the 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision act and entry. She will be one of the 3 members of the jury panel. The names of the other jury members will be announced in due course.

About the 2018 Ukrainian national selection

The 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision national selection will consist of a total of 3 shows (2 semi-finals and grand final). All 3 shows will be aired simultaneously on STB and UA:PBC’s Channel 1.

Serhiy Prytula will be hosting the Ukrainian national selection for the second time, having hosted this year’s Ukrainian Eurovision national selection.

  • 10/02: Semi-final 1
  • 17/02: Semi-final 2
  • 24/02: Grand Final

STB has released the details for the national selection. The submission period for artists to submit their entries in their quest to represent Ukraine at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest opened on 10 October and will conclude on 15 January 2018.

Artists wishing to compete in the national selection can submit their entries and register here. You can find the rules and details for the 2018 Ukrainian national selection here.

The names of the jury members are yet to be revealed. Ruslan Kvinta has been appointed as the music producer of the Ukrainian national selection.

The national selection will consist of 2 stages:

  • 1st Stage – Will consist of auditions in various Ukrainian cities
  • 2nd Stage – Will consist of 3 televised shows with circa 14-20 acts battling in the semi-finals

The 2018 Ukrainian Eurovision entry and act will be determined by a mixed jury/public televoting deliberation.

Ukraine in Eurovision

Ukraine debuted in Eurovision in 2003 and has won the competition twice (2004 – Ruslana and 2016 – Jamala).

The country is amongst the most successful countries in the contest and has never missed a Eurovision Grand Final since its debut, with the exception of 2015 when the country Ukraine withdrew from the contest. Ukraine has achieved a total of 9 Top 10 placings in its 14 year history in the event.

In 2017, O.Torvald represented Ukraine on home soil with their entry Time, achieving a 24th place in the Grand Final.