Four Spanish acts disqualified

by Victor Hondal 80 views

Following controversy over alleged breach of the Spanish national selection rules by certain acts in the race to represent the country in Oslo, the public broadcasting corporation RTVE has decided to disqualify them. Karmele Marchante aka Popstar Queen, Chimo Bayo, Kejí­o and Juan Losada are officially out of the competition.

From this moment, all three of them have been removed from the Spanish Eurovision website and therefore this has led to changes in the current top-10. Coral Segovia is now leading the list, followed by El Pezón Rojo and Samuel & Patricia.

Popstar Queen, Chimo Bayo, Kejío and Juan Losada have been reported in several media to be in breach of the Spanish preselection rules. Already when the preparations for Tu país te necesita were under way a couple of months ago, RTVE clearly stated that the whole process would be supervised in order to avoid cheating and to protect the reputation of the Eurovision Song Contest.

These are the acts that no longer are in the race to represent Spain in Oslo:

Popstar Queen – Soy un tsunami

Chimo Bayo feat. CodeName – La fiesta del fuego

Kejío – Una parte de mí

Juan Losada – Gente

You can see the current standings here .

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!