Poland: Changes to Krajowe Eliminacje 2017 as rules released

by Jessica Weaver 1,039 views

TVP, the Polish national broadcaster, has released the rules and regulations for the country’s upcoming national final for the Eurovision Song Contest, Krajowe Eliminacje 2017.

Sticking with the same selection concept as in 2016, TVP will once again use Krajowe Eliminacje as Poland’s national final for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest, with the winner going on to represent the nation in Kyiv next May.

Changes to Krajowe Eliminacje

Two key changes have been made to the 2017 Polish national final for the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest regarding the nationality of the competing artists as well as how the winner of the national final is set to be determined.

Polish citizenship required

Unlike last year in which artist’s from outside of Poland were eligible to compete, 2017 sees the introduction of a nationality rule, in which only artists with Polish citizenship are eligible to compete in the final.

Jury introduced

For the first time since 2009, Poland will introduce a jury to the national final who will decide 50% of the final vote; the remaining 50% will be determined via a public vote.

In the event of a tie, the entry which receives the highest amount of points from the public vote will be crowned the winner of the national final.

Submissions by 20 January

With the announcement of the rules and regulations, artists and composers are now eligible to submit their entries for the national final. Entries can be submitted to TVP both by post as well as online via the following addresses:

  • Postal submissions address: TVP S.A., ul. J.P. Woronicza 17, 00 – 999 Warszawa (with the title Eurowizja 2017)
  • Online submissions address: [email protected]

All bidding entries should be submitted by the 20 January 2017. Further information regarding rules and submissions can be found via TVP’s website.

The Krajowe Eliminacje 2017 national final is set to take place on the 11 February 2017; the winner of which will fly to Kyiv next May in one of the 2 semi-finals on either the 9 or 11 May 2017, bidding for a place in the final on the 13 May 2017.

Who will follow Michał Szpak and become the next Polish representative at the 62nd Eurovision Song Contest?