Lithuania: Eight shows and 28 artists on the quest to Eurovision 2016

by Gil Laufer 322 views

The Lithuanian broadcaster LRT has announced that the same mechanism that was used to select the country’s representative for the Eurovision Song Contest in 2015, will be in use again in 2016. A total of 28 artists will go through eight shows until the Lithuanian ticket to Stockholm will be handed out to the winner. The first show will kick off on 9 January.

The participants are:

  1. 4 Roses
  2. Aistė Pilvelytė
  3. Alice Way
  4. Baiba Skurstenė-Serdiukė
  5. Behind The Moon
  6. Berta Timinskaitė
  7. Catrinah
  8. Deividas Žygas
  9. Donatas Montvydas
  10. E.G.O.
  11. Eglė Jakštytė
  12. Elena Jurgaitytė
  13. Erica Jennings
  14. Gabrielė Grigolaitytė-Vasha
  15. HIT
  16. Ieva Zasimauskaitė
  17. Ištvan Kvik
  18. Jurgis Brūzga
  19. Lawreigna
  20. Milda Martinkėnaitė
  21. Neringa Šiaudikytė
  22. Petunija
  23. Ruslanas Kirilkinas
  24. Rūta Ščiogolevaitė
  25. Saulenė Chlevickaitė
  26. Ugnė Smile
  27. Valdas Lacko
  28. Vlad Kalugin

We can find Donny Montell (Donatas Montvydas) who represented Lithuania in Eurovision 2012 among the participants. Donny has recently released a new single and expressed his will to come back to the Eurovision stage.

All selection shows will be hosted by Andrius Rožickas and Gerūta Griniūte, while final is expected be held on 27 February. A fundraising show will be held a week after the final. LRT has yet to announce the songs that will take part in the selection.

Stay tuned to for more news regarding Lithuania in the Eurovision Song Contest 2016