Germany: ARD revealed the German jury

by Eleanor Cooper 168 views

ARD, the German national broadcaster has today announced the names of the 5-member jury responsible for 50% of the German vote. The remaining 50% of the vote will come from televoting. The votes of the German jury will count in the second semi-final and the grand final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2015.

The jury members are: Leslie Clio, Mark Forster, Ferris MC, Johannes Strate and Swen Meyer. They will watch a private viewing in Hamburg of the second dress rehearsals of each show on the evenings prior to the live shows, and cast their votes accordingly.

Leslie Clio is an award-winning singer/songwriter from Hamburg, and has just released her second album. She says about Eurovision, “As a songwriter, I look forward to hearing the many songs written for Eurovision, but as a singer I just love the show!”

One of the most successful singer/songwriters in Germany, Mark Forster also has many awards to his name, including double platinum for his single “Au Revoir”. He is half-Polish and says that he has been acquainted with the Eurovision Song Contest since birth. “We’ve always had a cozy family night in, and it was a great experience for me! I’m looking forward to a great show this year and heated discussions with the other jury members!”

The musician, rapper and actor Ferris MC has been a member of the band Decide since 2008. As a solo artist, he has released four albums and is planning on releasing his fifth at the end of May. He says enjoys “true emotion and innovation, and Eurovision is just that: a colourful spectacle with the occasional mad moment!”

Johannes Strate is the frontman of the popular German pop/rock band Revolverheld. They have achieved many chart-topping singles and albums. For their latest single, the earned triple gold. “The Eurovision Song Contest is one of the last really big TV shows that is produced annually on a grand scale, that you can enjoy with your friends and family” he says about the contest. “As a songwriter, it’s especially exciting for me to see what songs are produced the other European countries. This year it is a special privilege to be on the jury with good friends like Mark Forster.”

Finally, Swen Meyer is a music producer also from Hamburg.  He has worked with many famous German artists, the most notable of which being the winner of the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest, Lena. He also produced fellow jury member Ferris MC’s upcoming album. He says about Eurovision “It has been celebrated for 60 years now, and I am so grateful to be part of the jury this year! I have worked with half of the German winners, so I definitely feel I am up to the task!”

Germany will be able to vote in the second semi final on Thursday 21 May this year, as well as the grand final on Saturday 23 May. They will be represented by Ann Sophie singing the song “Black smoke”

The 2015 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 19, 21 and 23 May at the Wiener Stadthalle in Vienna, Austria.

Stay tuned to ESCToday for the latest news on Germany and the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!