Iceland: RUV reveals the Söngvakeppnin 2015 candidates

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 103 views1

Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

RUV, the Icelandic national broadcaster has revealed the names of the 12 acts that will battle for the golden ticket to Vienna at the forthcoming Icelandic 2015 Eurovision national selection- Söngvakeppnin 2015.

RÚV held a press conference in Reykjavik today where it revealed the names of the 12 Söngvakeppnin 2015 candidates along with their respective song titles.

A total of 258 songs were submitted, the entries  that have been selected are composed by veterans and newcomers alike, whilst the youngest composer is only 16 years old.

The 2015 Icelandic national selection will consist of 3 shows ( 2 semifinals scheduled to take place on 31 January and 7 February), whilst the grand finale is scheduled to be held on 14 February at the Haskolabio venue in Reykjavik.

The 12 competing songs in alphabetical order

  • Regína Ósk – Aldrei of seint
    music: María Björk Sverrisdóttir, Marcus Frenell and Sarah Reeve
    lyrics: María Björk Sverrisdóttir and Regína Ósk Óskarsdóttir
  • Stefanía Svavarsdóttir –  Augnablik
    music and lyrics: Sveinn Rúnar Sigurðsson
  • Bjarni Lárus Hall – Brotið gler
    song and lyrics: Axel Árnason and Bjarni Lárus Hall
  • SUNDAY – Fjaðrir
    song and lyrics: Hildur Kristín Stefánsdóttir and Guðfinnur Sveinsson
    artists: Hildur Kristín Stefánsdóttir, Guðfinnur Sveinsson, Vignir Rafn Hilmarsson and Helga Kristín Ingólfsdóttir
  • CADEM – Fyrir alla
    music: Daníel Óliver Sveinsson and Jimmy Åkerfors
    lyrics: Daníel Óliver Sveinsson and Einar Ágúst Víðisson
    artists: Daníel Óliver ásamt Emelie Schytz and Caroline Waldemarsson
  • Elín Sif Halldórsdóttir Í kvöld
    song and lyrics: Elín Sif Halldórsdóttir
  • Friðrik Dór – Í síðasta skipti
    music: Pálmi Ragnar Ásgeirsson, Ásgeir Orri Ásgeirsson and Sæþór Kristjánsson
    lyrics: Pálmi Ragnar Ásgeirsson, Ásgeir Orri Ásgeirsson, Sæþór Kristjánsson and Friðrik Dór Jónsson
  • María Ólafsdóttir  – Lítil skref
    song and lyrics: Ásgeir Orri Ásgeirsson, Pálmi Ragnar Ásgeirsson and Sæþór Kristjánsson
  • Haukur Heiðar Hauksson – Milljón augnablik
    music: Karl Olgeir Olgeirsson
    lyrics: Karl Olgeir Olgeirsson and Haukur Heiðar Hauksson
  • Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir Myrkrið hljótt
    song: Arnar Ástráðsson
    lyrics: Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir
  • Björn and friends – Piltur og stúlka
    song and lyrics: Björn Þór Sigbjörnsson, Tómas Hermannsson and Björn Jörundur Friðbjörnsson
    artists: Björn Jörundur Friðbjörnsson, Unnur Birna Björnsdóttir, Hafrún Kolbeinsdóttir and Pétur Örn Guðmundsson
  • HINEMOA – Þú leitar líka að mér
    music: Ásta Björg Björgvinsdóttir
    lyrics: Bergrún Íris Sævarsdóttir
    artists: Ásta Björg Björgvinsdóttir, Rakel Pálsdóttir, Sindri Magnússon, Kristófer Nökkvi Sigurðarson, Gísli Páll Karlsson and Regína Lilja Magnúsdóttir

In 2014 Iceland selected Pollapönk via a national selection to fly the Icelandic flag at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen. The Icelandic group achieved a 15th placing in the final with their entry No Prejudice.

2015 will mark the 60th anniversary, the Diamond Jubilee, of the Eurovision Song Contest. The 2015 Eurovision Song Contest will be held on 19, 21 and 23 May at the Wienner Stadthalle in Vienna, Austria.

Iceland debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1986 and is yet to win the event. The Scandinavian island has come close to winning the event twice in 1999 with Selma’s All out of luck and in 2009 with Yohanna‘s Is it true, both placing 2nd.

 Stay tuned to for the latest news on the 2015 Icelandic national final, Iceland and the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest.


Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.
ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at!