Molitva is song of the year!

by Benny Royston 202 views

Marija Serifovic has won the title of 2007 Song of the year according to the readers and members of She takes over the mantle from Mihai Traistariu with her Eurovision Song Contest winning song, Molitva. The song is composed by Vladimir Graić and lyrics are by Sa�a Milo�ević.

The song gave Serbia its first victory at the world's biggest music competition and has been voted as the best song in the competition by the Eurovision Song Contest fans.

Marija Serifovic's Molitva won the second annual song of the year award by a large margin. With 21,000 votes cast, she took 28.9% of the vote, beating Magdi Ruzsa's Unsubstantial blues into second place with 16.1% of the votes cast.

The result is in huge contrast to last year, when Mihai and Carola were separated by just one vote. They finished fourth and fifth at the 2006 Eurovision Song Contest. This year, fans have decided that the winning Eurovision Song Contest song deserves to be named as Song of the year for 2007.

The Song of the Year result:

  1. Molitva by Marija Šerifović of Serbia 28.9 %
  2. Unsubstantial blues by Magdi Rúzsa of Hungary 16.2 %
  3. Visionary dream by Sopho of Georgia 10.6 %
  4. Dancing lasha tumbai by Verka Serduchka of Ukraine 10.6 %
  5. Song #1 by Serebro of Russia 10.1 %
  6. Frauen regier'n die Welt by Roger Cicero of Germany 9.1 %
  7. Water by Elitsa Todorova & Stoyan Yankoulov of Bulgaria 8.5 %
  8. Shake it up shekerim by Kenan Doğulu of Turkey 6.0 %

The esctoday.elves will be sending Eurosanta across the continent tonight with Rudolf the Finnish Reindeer and his friends to deliver some special presents on behalf of the fans. Throughout the day, we will be announcing the winners from the second annual awards. Some categories have been incredibly close, and we have a tie in one of the most popular categories and some very close results in many polls.

The 2007 Song of the Year: Molitva, by Marija Serifovic of Serbia.