Introducing 2015 – Finland

by Pete Lewis 307 views


40 countries will be taking part in the 60th Eurovision Song Contest, which will be held in Vienna on 19, 21 and 23 May. The next country to be introduced is Finland. Singing for Finland this year is Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät.

Artist Information

Artist – Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät
SongAina mun pitaää
Composers – Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät
Writers – Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät
Event – Semi-final 1
Position – 05

Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät is a punk-rock band based in the Finnish capital, Helsinki. Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät consists of 4 members; Pertti Kurikka, Kari Aalto, Sami Helle and Toni Välitalo.

The band members first met in 2004 at a charity workshop for adults with developmental disabilities and later went on to form Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät in 2009.

Pertti Kurikan Nimipäivät first sight of fame was in 2012 following their appearance in the Finnish documentary film, The Punk Syndrome. The film followed the lives of the band members, all of whom live with autism and Down Syndrome, and how they use and perform punk music in order to release their frustrations with everyday occurrences.

In 2014, the band went on to perform at a charity concert alongside Mr. Lordi, the lead singer of the 2006 Eurovision-winning band, Lordi.



1 2 3 4Next

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!