Spain: TVE confirms participation in Eurovision 2015

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 3,869 views

TVE, the Spanish national broadcaster has confirmed to ESCToday that Spain  will participate at the forthcoming 2015 Eurovision Song Contest in Vienna next year In May.

Spain is the 32nd country to confirm its participation at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest.

Spain joins Italy, Israel, Serbia , Armenia, RomaniaUnited KingdomGeorgia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, MontenegroBelarusLatvia, France, Greece,  FYR Macedonia, Austria, Cyprus, Malta, Switzerland, Sweden, Iceland, Norway, Denmark, Ireland, Germany, FinlandThe Netherlands, Lithuania, Belgium, Portugal, Azerbaijan and Estonia in the list of countries which will join the 2015 Eurovision party in Austria next year.

The official list of the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest participants is expected to be released by the EBU by early January. The deadline for countries to submit their application in order to compete at the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest concludes today 15 September.

The method and mechanism Spain will use to select its 2015 Eurovision act and entry is yet to be determined. TVE will release more information regarding the 2015 Spanish Eurovision project in due course.

In 2014 Spain opted for a national selection in order to select its Eurovision entry and act for Copenhagen. Ruth Lorenzo won the 2014 Spanish national final with her entry Dancing in the rain and achieved an honorable 10th place at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest grand final.

Spain debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has participated at every Eurovision edition since then. Spain has won the contest in 1968 with Massiel and 1969 in Salome.

The 2015 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 19, 21, 23 May at the Wiener Stadthalle, in Vienna.

Stay tuned to for the latest news on the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!