Spain: Monica Naranjo will be the 3rd jury member

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 251 views

TVE, the Spanish national broadcaster has announced that Spanish superstar Monica Naranjo will be 3rd member of the  special jury that will be partly resposible for selecting the 2014 Spanish Eurovision representative. The 2014 Spanish Eurovision national final- Mira quien va a Eurovision will be held in Barcelona on Saturday 22 February.

Monica Naranjo will be joining David Bustamante and Merche. Monica Naranjo is one of Spain’s most celebrated and recognised singers enjoying great fame, name and recognition not only at home but overseas. She has a great career behind her having recorded many albums and achieving many hits.

Monica Naranjo, David Bustamente and Merche will be members of the jury at the forthcoming 2014 Spanish Eurovision national final, scheduled to be held in Barcelona on Saturday 22 February.  David Bustamente competed in the 2002 Spanish Eurovision national final when he battled against Rosa and David Bisbal for the golden ticket to Tallinn, but was beaten by Rosa who went on to represent Spain at the 2002 Eurovision Song Contest.

Both Merche and David Bustamante enjoy great fame and recognition in Spain and are among the most sought after artists in Spain. The Spanish broadcaster will be revealing the names of the other jury members in due course. The 2014 Spanish Eurovision entry will be selected via a 50/50 jury- televoting deliberation.

Gisela the 2008 Andorran representative and backing vocalist for Rosa (Spain 2002) will be performing a medley of Eurovision songs during the show.

TVE is currently busy working round the clock preparing for its forthcoming Eurovision national final where a total of 5 acts will battle to represent Spain at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen.

The 2014 Spanish Eurovision national will be held at the TVE studios in Sant Cugat in Barcelona on Saturday 22 February. A total of 5 acts will battle for the golden ticket to Copenhagen: Brequette, Ruth Lorenzo, La Dama, Jorge Gonzalez and Raul. The show will be hosted by Anne Igartiburu.

The show will be televised live at 22:00 CET on TVE 1, TVE Internacional (via satellite- Hotbird 13- Europe) and will be streamed on TVE’s official Eurovision website. 

You can listen to the 5 potential Spanish entries on TVE’s Eurovision official website. You can listen to the 5 bidding entries here.

Last month  TVE  announced the format for the 2014 Spanish Eurovision national selection along with the names of the 5 hopefuls and their respective entries.

 The 5 Spanish candidates

  • Raul- Seguir sin ti
  • Ruth Lorenzo- Dancing in the rain
  • La Dama- Estrella Fugaz
  • Brequette-Mas- Run<strong>
  • Jorge Gonzalez- Auque se acabe el mundo

Eurovision fans will be familiar with Raul and Jorge Gonzalez, both boys have tried to represent Spain at the Eurovision Song Contest. Raul was runner up at the 2000 Spanish Eurovision national final- Eurocancion 2000 with Sueño su boca. Ruth Lorenzo is well known to fans in the UK due to her participation in the X Factor. Brequette shot to fame in Spain thanks to her participation in the Spanish version of the world famous show The Voice- La VozLa Dama is the wife of well known Spanish singer and composer Melendi.

Last year TVE selected El Sueño De Morfeo via an internal selection to represent Spain at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmo.  Spain as one of the BIG 5 countries is automatically qualifed to compete in the Eurovision Song Contest grand final.

Spain debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1961 and has won the even on 2 occasions in 1968 with Massiel and in 1969 on home soil with Salome.

Stay tuned to for the latest news on Spain and the Eurovision Song Contest.