Portugal: RTP reveals 10 composers for FDC 2014

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,974 views

RTP, the Portuguese national broadcaster has revealed the names of the 10 composers that have been invited to compete in the forthcoming Portuguese Eurovision national selection- Festival da Cançao 2014.

The 2014 Portuguese Eurovision selection will consist of a semi-final scheduled to be held on 8 March and a grand final scheduled to be held on 15 March at the Convento do Beato, in Lisbon.

The 10 composers

  1. Marc Paelinck
  2. Emanuel
  3. Janvandijk
  4.  Nuno Feist
  5. Andrej Babic
  6. Toze Santos (Perfume)
  7.  Joao Matos/Vitor Antunes (Áurea)
  8.  Ricardo Alfonso/Luis Fernando/Rui Fingers
  9. Tiago Pais Dias(Amor Electro)
  10. Joao So

RTP has revealed to esctoday.com that  10 songs will compete in the semi-final on 8 March, the top 5 entries after a public televoting deliberation will proceed to the final.  A total of 5 entries will compete in the 2014 Festival Da Cançao final on 15 March. The 2014  Portuguese Eurovision entry and representative will be selected via  a 100% televoting deliberation.

RTP has invited a total of 10  composers to compete at the 2014 Festival Da Cançao. Each composer will submit his/her own respective entry and will be resposible to select the singer for the competition, along with RTP’s approval.

Portugal will be back at the Eurovision Song Contest this year after missing out in 2013 due to financial reasons. Last November RTP confirmed to esctoday.com that Portugal would return to the contest in 2014.

Portugal has been competing at the Eurovision Song Contest for 48 years having contributed a total of 45 entries, having missed out on participating in 1970, 2000, 2002 and 2013.

Portugal debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1964 with Antonio Calvario, and is yet to win the event. Portugal’s best placing at the Eurovision Song Contest has been a 6th placing in 1996 with Lucia Moniz‘s O meu coraçao nao tem cor.

Stay tuned to esctoday.com for the latest information on Portugal, FDC 2014 and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.