Germany: NDR reveals 7 finalists

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 242 views

NDR, the German national broadcaster has revealed the names of 7 acts that will compete at the 2014 German Eurovision national final.

A total of 8 acts will compete at the 2014 German national final. NDR has revealed 7 out of the 8 competing acts. The remaining act will be revealed at a later date. Each act will perform a total of 2 songs at the final.  A special comittee composed by NDR, Brainpool and German record companies were responsible to select the competing acts.

The candidates

  • Das Gezeichnete Ich
  • Madeline Juno
  • MarieMarie
  • Oceana
  • Santiano
  • The Baseballs
  • Unheilig

The 2014 German national final will be held at the Lanxess Arena in Cologne on Thursday 13 March.  Unser Song Fur Danemark  will be aired live at 20:15 CET on German national broadcaster ARD. A total of 8 acts will battle for the golden ticket to Copenhangen. NDR plans to reveal the names of the hosts in due course.

Germany debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest  in 1956 and was one of the founder members of the contest, having won the event twice in 1982 with Nicole’s Ein Bisschen Frieden and in 2010 with Lena’s Satellite. Germany has only missed participating at the Eurovision Song Contest once, in 1996, when they missed out in the preselection round. After that it was decided that the so-called Big 5 countries get an automatic entry to the final every year.

Germany as one of the BIG 5 countries will compete at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest final on May 10 at the B&W Hall in Copenhagen,

Stay tuned to for the latest news on Germany and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.

Who do you want to see participating for Germany? Leave your opinion below.