Belarus: BTRC receives more than 60 entries

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 176 views

BTRC, the Belarusian national broadcaster has announced that more than 60 entries have been submitted for the 2014 Belarusian Eurovision national selection.

Among the applicants are Nuteki band, Alexey Gross, Daria, Natalia Tamelo, Ivan Buslai, Elena Grishanova, Georgy Koldun, Didjulja and Max Lawrence. An audition is scheduled to be held in Minsk on November 28-29. A special jury will evaluate all received entries during the casting and make their final deliberation by shortlisting the entries from 60 to 15.  A total of 15 acts will compete in the 2014 Belarusian national final scheduled to be held in Minsk in January. The names of the lucky artists will be announced by the jury on November 29.

The jury includes People’s Artists of Belarus Vasily Rainchik and Alexander Tikhanovich, director of the Shtam dance school Alexander Mezhenny, the 2013 Belarusian Eurovision representative Alyona Lanskaya, TV host Mikhail Revutsky and other persons. The jury will be led by Chairman of the Belarusian TV and Radio Company Gennady Davydko.

Belarus debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 2004 and is yet to win the event. The country’s best result in the contest was in 2007 with Koldun‘s Work your magic, when Belarus placed 6th.

Alyona Lanskaya represented Belarus at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest with Solayoh achieving a 16th place in the grand final.

The 2014 Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Denmark on 6, 8, 10 May. Stay tuned to for the latest information on Belarus and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.